[Icecast] Looking for company behind serverhostingcenter.com and directhostingcenter.com for causing problems on dir.xiph.org

"Thomas B. Rücker" thomas at ruecker.fi
Mon Dec 29 06:44:39 PST 2014

On 12/29/2014 01:43 PM, Maarten S wrote:
> Hi Thomas,
> directhostingcenter.com:
> Registrant Organization: Internet and Computer Services, LLC (LINK
> WhoIs <http://whois.icann.org/en/lookup?name=directhostingcenter.com>)

Yeah, I spent about half an hour trying to find more on that company,
but came up empty handed. Their name isn't really helpful when perusing
a search engine, even if you try forced grouping and other tricks.

> Tim Wood = Owner - Internet and Computer Services, LLC (LINK LinkedIn
> <https://www.linkedin.com/pub/tim-wood/85/3a3/1ba>)
> Also: LINK
> <http://mail.directhostingcenter.com/how-to-install-csf-and-lfd>,
> press WEBMASTER, mail address =   timwood at timwood.net
> <mailto:timwood at timwood.net>
> Perhaps this is the one you are looking for.

That looks like the best shot so far, thanks for finding that missing link.
I'll email that guy.
If anyone else has first hand knowledge, please let me know. You'd think
this outfit has some web page to advertize and sell their streaming



> Best regards, Maarten
> *Van:* Thomas B. Rücker <mailto:thomas at ruecker.fi>
> *Verzonden:* ‎maandag‎ ‎29‎ ‎december‎ ‎2014 ‎14‎:‎27
> *Aan:* Icecast streaming server user discussions <mailto:icecast at xiph.org>
> Hi everyone,
> as most of you probably know we are operating http://dir.xiph.org - an
> open streaming directory.
> There are always some misconfigured servers that keep trying to list
> something broken. Most common are those where the server admin thinks
> they can just put their homepage domain into the <hostname> field
> (pro-tip: don't do that, ever, use the proper hostname of that machine!
> Test the listenurl shown in admin!).
> But there are also serial offenders, like *hostingcenter.com and their
> many instances.
> In most cases I manage to eventually reach someone or if it's just a
> single instance, I blacklist it. Blacklisting actually has the positive
> effect, that their error.log will contain a sensible error message, if
> they bother to read it. Their listing was broken to begin with.
> The problem with stream-hosting outfits is, that quite often they will
> host a dozen or more servers on one IPv4 address and associated FQDN.
> This means, that if I can't reach such a company, I am forced to pull
> the plug on *ALL* their clients. I'm rather reluctant to do that, as it
> will hit innocent bystanders who's only fault it is to have bought
> services from an incompetent company.
> So once again, if anyone has hints as to which company is hiding behind
> the domains:
> serverhostingcenter.com
> directhostingcenter.com
> and more importantly knows a way to reach someone responsible.
> Just to be clear, I tried whois and mailed the address(es) there, I
> tried to reach some of the customers of theirs, etc. I'm not willing to
> invest more of my time into chasing them down anymore. Either I get a
> direct technical contact at that company, or next week their domains and
> IP ranges will be blacklisted from dir.xiph.org, collateral damage
> assumed.
> If for some reason you don't want to post to the mailing list, then
> *don't* press reply but send a mail to thomas at ruecker.fi instead.
> Cheers
> Thomas
> PS: If you have an Icecast server that's listing on dir.xiph.org, please
> make sure to put a working technical contact email address into the
> <admin> field. We're actually using that to reach out to people who
> manage to break their listings and such.
> _______________________________________________
> Icecast mailing list
> Icecast at xiph.org
> http://lists.xiph.org/mailman/listinfo/icecast
> _______________________________________________
> Icecast mailing list
> Icecast at xiph.org
> http://lists.xiph.org/mailman/listinfo/icecast

More information about the Icecast mailing list